Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home » Funding » Calls and Results »

The National Arts Council Awards 88 Bursaries For Study In South Africa In 2015

The National Arts Council (NAC) has awarded 88 bursaries to arts students to further their studies in South Africa in 2015.

The successful candidates come from Gauteng, Western Cape, Eastern Cape, North West, Free State, KwaZulu Natal and Limpopo. Twenty candidates will be pursuing studies in the field of literature, 16 in theatre, 14 in visual arts, 11 in music, 10 in multi-discipline, nine in dance and eight in craft; the full list of bursaries awarded can be accessed below.

Please ensure you have Adobe Reader installed before viewing the files below. Download it here.

Bursary recipients will be studying at a range of institutions nationwide, including the University of the Free State, the University of the Witwatersrand, the University of Johannesburg, the University of Cape Town, Tshwane University of Technology, Durban University of Technology, Vaal University of Technology, The Animation School, Ruth Prowse School of Art, Funda Community College, Oakfields College, Moving Into Dance Mophatong, the Cape Academy of Performing Arts, Jazzart Dance Theatre, SewAfrica and LISOF.

This round of South African bursaries is the first awarded by the newly appointed NAC panels, made up of the following members;

  • Craft: Erica Elk* (Western Cape); Bulelwa Bam (Eastern Cape); Jabu Dlamini (Mpumalanga) and Nthabiseng Makhene (Gauteng)
  • Dance: Phyllis Klotz* (Gauteng); Lizelle Julie (Northern Cape); Mamela Nyamza (Western Cape) and PJ Sabbagha (Gauteng)
  • Literature: Johnny Masilela* (Limpopo); Nomsa Mdlalose (Gauteng); Menzi Zamokwakhe Thango (Gauteng) and David wa Maahlamela (Eastern Cape)
  • Multi- Discipline: Bongani Tembe* (KwaZulu Natal); Michael Arendse (Western Cape); Thamsanqa Igor Dlamini (Eastern Cape); Monwabisi Grootboom (KwaZulu Natal) and Londiwe Langa (Gauteng)
  • Music: Ndela Ntshangase* (KwaZulu Natal); Othusitse Mabilo (Northern Cape); Lionel Mkwanazi (KwaZulu Natal) and Moses Dodo Monamodi (Gauteng)
  • Theatre: Nakedi Ribani* (Gauteng); Marie-Heleen Coetzee (Gauteng); Nikki Froneman (Western Cape) and Wandile Mgcodo (Gauteng)
  • Visual Arts: Dominic Thorburn* (Eastern Cape); Jacob Lebeko (Gauteng); Same Mdluli (Gauteng) and Tracey Rose (KwaZulu Natal).

* Chairperson of Panel

Says NAC CEO Rosemary Mangope: “In order to achieve our goal of changing the landscape of South Africa’s creative industries, we need to attract top quality and diverse students who are going to make a difference in their various fields of pursuit.

“We thank our panellists for their time and passion in identifying these emerging talents and, as the NAC, we are delighted that we can help students achieve their goals through the awarding of these bursaries. We look forward to seeing what they achieve in years to come.”

The South African bursaries are in addition to the 17 international bursaries awarded by the NAC earlier this year.

Document Actions